Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
Cambridge/ILTA Distinguished Achievement Award
Share |
ILTA, with sponsorship from Cambridge Assessment English periodically invites nominations for the Cambridge/ILTA Distinguished Achievement Award. Its purpose is to acknowledge distinguished service and/or scholarship in the field of language testing. The nominee demonstrates clear evidence of the following kinds:
  • Extensive, inspirational academic, professional, and/or administrative leadership in the field of Language Testing
  • Valuable research and scholarship in Language Testing
  • Mentoring of students and/or young scholars into the field of Language Testing
  • Active engagement in the practice of developing and using language tests
  • Being an active member of the Language Testing community currently or recently (i.e., within the last 10 years) 

An award of ₤1,000 and a framed certificate/plaque, sponsored by Cambridge Assessment English is given at the annual meeting of LTRC. The language tester honored is invited to deliver a plenary lecture at the LTRC at which the award is presented. Cambridge Assessment English will cover the cost of airfare and accommodation, while ILTA covers the cost of conference registration and banquet attendance.

The award is not necessarily an annual award. The call for nominations will go out every year, but the committee may decide there is no worthy recipient in the nominations.


2018 Carolyn Turner, McGill University
2017 Sauli Takala, University of Jyväskylä
2016 John H.A. L. de Jong, VU University of Amsterdam
2015 Professor Tim McNamara, University of Melbourne
2014 Professor Cyril Weir, University of Bedfordshire
2012 Professor Carol A. Chapelle, Iowa State University
2009 Professor Elana Shohamy, Tel Aviv University
2008 Professor J. Charles Alderson, Lancaster University
2007 Dr. Charles Stansfield, Second Language Testing, Inc.
2006 Dr. John L. D. Clark, Defense Language Institute
2005 Professor Bernard Spolsky, Bar Ilan University
2004 Professor Lyle F. Bachman, University of California, Los Angeles
2003 Professor Alan Davies, Edinburgh University

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal